Chapter Awards

Chapter Awards2018-09-18T16:32:12-04:00

Each year, the FPRA Southwest Florida Chapter presents three awards to members of our chapter: The PR Professional of the Year; The Rising Star; and The FPRA Chapter Member of the Year.

Our chapter honors a member who exemplifies the high standards of the public relations profession in Southwest Florida with the PR Professional of the Year award. The recipients of this award display a professional attitude and exercise professional conduct, are cooperative and supportive of fellow public relations professionals, and are very interested in raising the professional standing of FPRA in our community. Think of this person as one who both leads by word and deed. She/he is a person you respect for their work and for their determination to constantly improve.
2018 PR Professional of the Year: Betsy Clayton, APR, CPRC

The Rising Star Award recognizes an up and coming leader in our chapter. This is someone who has shown enthusiasm and passion for the profession, and where ever you see them, they are likely to be making a positive difference through their service to chapter events, career pursuits and in other arenas. We like to encourage our members to seek opportunities to get involved, and the Rising Star awardee is someone who puts this call into action.
2018 Rising Star: Heather Doane, APR

The Southwest Florida Chapter Member of the Year Award is one who goes above and beyond in their commitment of time and energy to ensure the success of the chapter. Not only has this recipient embraced the creative thinking and opportunities for participation in chapter programs and projects, but she or he also serves as an ambassador to the community of what FPRA is all about. This person excels at their profession, and enjoys giving back to this chapter to inspire future PR leaders to learn and grow through FPRA.
2018 Chapter Member of the Year: Lisa Murray, APR, CPRC

In 2013, we added another award to our annual slate of honorees. The Unsung Hero Award was created to recognize the contributions of an individual SWFL FPRA member for their hard work and dedication to the chapter ‘behind the scenes’ that helps to enhance and promote the Public Relations profession. This award honors an individual who consistently provides support and assistance to the chapter and its professional goals without hesitation.
2018 Chapter Unsung Hero: Trish Robertson, APR, CPRC

By far the most prestigious and honorable award, the Lifetime Achievement Award is reserved for those public relations professionals who have dedicated their career to the profession and the advancement of it. It’s given only when there is someone eligible and is not required to be distributed annually.
2018 Lifetime Achievement Award: Teri Hansen


Joe Curley Rising Leader Award

The Joe Curley Rising Leader Award is intended to identify and honor up-and-coming individual FPRA members that demonstrate emerging leadership traits along with dedicated active involvement in FPRA Chapter activities, programs, functions and events.

The goal of the award is to help recognize personal dedication and engagement of members with two to five years of membership, and to help build a healthy leadership stream at the local chapter level.

Past Award Winners:


Year PR Professional of the Year Member of the Year Rising Star Unsung Hero Lifetime Achievement
2017 Jessica Walker, APR, CPRC Randy Mitchelson, APR Lisa Murray, APR, CPRC Pam Nulman, APR, CPRC
2016 Connie Ramos-Williams Mike Jackson, APR McKenzie Cassidy and Jessica Walter, APR Tiffany Whitaker, APR Carolyn Rogers, APR, CPRC
2015 Samantha Scott, APR Angie Strait, APR Jaimie Duthoy, APR Vicki Moreland Kate Gooderham, APR, CPRC
2014 Vicki Moreland Heidi Taulman, APR Trish Robertson, APR, CPRC & Jessica Boles Kara Winton, APR, CPRC Amy Gravina, APR
2013 Phyllis Ershowsky, APR, CPRC Phyllis Ershowsky, APR, CPRC Janelle Beaber Laura Puerto, APR
2012 Carolyn Rogers, APR, CPRC Michelle Nagel Tiffany Esposito-Kittinger, APR
2011 Kate Gooderham, APR, CPRC Phyllis Ershowsky, APR, CPRC Erin Croop
2010 Pam Nulman, APR, CPRC Victoria Moreland Danielle Flood
2009 Tina Haisman, APR, CPRC Laura Puerto, APR Carla Ulakovic
2008 Kara Winton, APR, CPRC Ginny Cooper Vicki Collins
2007 Karen Sloan, APR, CPRC Kara Winton, APR, CPRC Laura Puerto, APR
2006 Mary Briggs, APR, CPRC Olivia Orth Kirsty Whelen
2005 Kate Gooderham, APR, CPRC Deb Webb, APR Kaley Miller
2004 Melinda Isley, APR Nancy McCarthy, APR & Debbie Steele Paul Filla, APR
2003 Colleen Reynolds, APR Eileyn Sobeck-Bador, APR Nancy McCarthy, APR & Olivia Orth
2002 Karen Ryan, APR, CPRC Lee Rose
2001 Laska Ryan, APR Kate Gooderham, APR, CPRC
2000 Susan Johnson Kelly Powell
1999 Teri Hansen, APR Tina Haisman, APR, CPRC
1998 Susan Bennett, APR, CPRC Melinda Isley, APR
1997 Lynn Schneider, APR, CPRC Susan Johnson
1995/ 1996 Andrea Meyer, APR, CPRC Carolyn Rogers, APR, CPRC
1994 Kitty Green, APR & Craig Bair, APR, CPRC Mary Briggs, APR, CPRC
1993 Margie Byers, APR Betsy Pearce
1992 Deb Wolfson Trish Leonard
1991 George Cecil Claudia O’Brien, APR
1990 Donna Woldorf, APR Cyndi Doragh & Steve Floethe
1989 Craig Bair, APR, CPRC Lynn Schneider, APR, CPRC
1988 Laurel Smith, APR Janette Hunt
1987 Amy Gravina, APR Nancy Frahmann, APR, CPRC