Scholarship recipients are off to Annual Conference in August 

Part of our chapter’s commitment each year is to provide a limited number of member scholarships to annual conference. This year six Southwest Florida FPRA members were awarded scholarships to attend FPRA’s state conference: PR2011 The Evolution of Public Relations, August 7-10, in Naples, Florida, at the Naples Grande Beach Resort.

Scholarship recipients were selected based on their current and past leadership contributions to the Southwest Florida Chapter of FPRA, a statement of what they hoped to gain personally and professionally from attending the state conference, and financial need.

We are very pleased to present scholarships to three first-time conference attendees, in addition to three veteran PR professionals and past conference attendees.

Recipients will share lessons learned and valuable tips garnered at the state conference with the SWFL Chapter membership during a panel discussion at the September business meeting.

Congratulations to this year’s scholarship recipients:

Partial scholarships

Jessica Clark, APR
Shell Point Retirement Community

Ginny Cooper, APR, CPRC
The Cooper Group

Kirsten O’Donnell 

Goodwill Industries of Southwest Florida

Full conference scholarships

Erin Comerford 
Lee County Port Authority

Melissa Simontis, APR 
PACE Center for Girls, Lee County

Kathleen Taylor, APR
The News-Press Media Group


Tailgate Party to Kickoff 2011 Annual Conference

Don your Alma Mater colors and show your school spirit at the ultimate tailgate party and class reunion as FPRA kicks off the 2011 Annual Conference on Sunday, August 7th at the Naples Grande Beach Resort.

Slip back in time to your college days of football games, school songs and tailgate parties, all while supporting the Florida Public Relations Education Foundation. Experience the chapter challenge cheerleading competition, chow down on burgers, dogs and beers, and bid on outstanding silent and live auction items.

The $45 fee for the fundraiser is a separate cost from the conference registration fee, but well worth the price of admission to be part of the tailgate party of the year. Come cheer on our chapter video being coordinated by our two head cheerleaders: Michelle Nagel and Kirsten O’Donnell. Need more info: visit